Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Friday, July 01, 2016
Saskatchewan Justice

Interpersonal violence and abuse refers to violence and abuse that occurs between people who know each other.  It can occur within or outside a family setting.

Violence is when there is an unlawful exercise of physical force that may result in criminal charges or physical and/or sexual abuse. 

Abuse is when someone in a caring relationship does or says things to gain control over another person by hurting that person or causing feelings such as fear, anxiety, nervousness, guilt, helplessness or worthlessness.

The Government of Saskatchewan is working in partnership with communities, families and individuals to foster relationships free of violence and abuse. Community groups, organizations and government are working at the community level as well as at the provincial level to address systemic issues that contribute to interpersonal violence and abuse. For more information, contact STOPS (Saskatchewan Towards Offering Partnership Solutions to Violence) in Regina at (306)565-3199 or the web site: (See also the National Clearinghouse on Family Violence.)

The Ministry of Justice and Attorney General funds ten women's shelters in Saskatchewan that provide emergency accommodation and support for women and their children who are leaving abusive and violent circumstances. These shelters are located in Moose Jaw, Swift Current, North Battleford, Saskatoon, Prince Albert, Yorkton and Regina.

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) funds shelters in Meadow Lake, Yorkton and Fort Qu'Appelle. A shelter in La Ronge is co-funded by Justice and Attorney General and INAC.

Family violence outreach services funded through the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General assist women and their children who need help in accessing a shelter or other services. Sexual assault services provide crisis intervention, support and counseling to victims of sexual assault.

Listed below are services funded by the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General and delivered through community-based organizations.

© 2016 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.