Government of Saskatchewan
Quick Search:
Wednesday, February 10, 2016
Saskatchewan Justice

The Commissioners for Oaths Act, 2012 authorizes the administering of oaths and the taking or receiving of affidavits, declarations and affirmations for Saskatchewan by commissioners for oaths. Some commissioners are appointed while others have that authority by virtue of their status or office.

A person who wishes to be appointed as a commissioner must be at least 18 years old and must complete the required application form and pay the prescribed fee. Appointments are made by the Minister of Justice and are for five-year terms.

Provincial Court judges, lawyers who are members in good standing of the Law Society of Saskatchewan, Members of the Legislative Assembly, officers in the Canadian Armed Forces, specified court officials, police officers, and designated government officials are commissioners for oaths by virtue of their status.

An appointment as commissioner for oaths may be revoked if the person has been found guilty of misrepresentation, fraud, or an offence against the Act, or has made a material misstatement in his or her application for appointment.

© 2016 Government of Saskatchewan. All rights reserved.